All Things Geek and Wonderful, Friends

Stream of Consciousness Sunday: Munchkin Land

We went to play games with some other couples at a friend’s house today.  Both The Guru and I love games.  He’s more into arcade and video games than I, but we both enjoy games, whether card games, board games, or video games.  I even used to skip class in college to stay and play Spades with other Honor’s students.  *shhh*

At the beginning of the day everything was running pretty smoothly.  We played a couple new games including Pirate Fluxx, Saboteur, and Werewolf.  We also recently acquired Munchkin, some expansions, and some variants (Superhero, Space, etc.) for a pittance and wanted to try it out since we haven’t played that before.  One guy had played a lot of these games and helped explain the rules to us newbies.

We laughed.  We ate junk food.  We joked.  Then I started to notice rules guy was turning into a complete tool.  We’re pretty casual players and we engage in a lot of side talk, taunts, and general ribbing while gaming.  No way was this guy into that.

When it finally came time for some of us to learn to play Munchkin, including the person hosting this event at their home, things went down hill fast.  First, Mr. Grumpy Pants didn’t seem to want to play at all.  Second, Mr. Grumpy Pants seemed particularly grumpy that I was attempting to twist the rules to my advantage (which I was told was the way you play the game).  Or at least, Mr. Grumps was fine with rule twisting in HIS favor.  It all came to a head when I started to play a card then changed my mind and Hubs and our host both played something instead.

This guy had to try to tell my husband off for my misplay that he apparently was “taking advantage of”.  BTW, this was close to when Jerk-Face was going to win.  Umm, chill out dude, we’re still learning how to play.  When Hubs basically told him to back off (and so did the host) he then had to try and school Hubs as to how he wasn’t paying attention when the rules were being explained.  I’m proud to say that Hubs didn’t back down, and I controlled my – what normally would have been – extremely vicious reaction and took the higher road.

The game broke up after that and Mr. Sore Sport and posse left.  We stayed and talked to the host.  I demanded he not invite the jerk back to game night again to which he agreed.  I can see that Munchkin would be a fun game with a friendly group, but today as a poor introduction to Munchkin Land.

munchkin board game

 

This was my 5 minute Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. It’s five minutes of your time and a brain dump. Want to try it? Here are the rules…

  • Set a timer and write for 5 minutes.
  • Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.
  • Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.
  • Add the Stream of Consciousness Sunday badge to your post.
  • Link up your post below.
  • Visit your fellow bloggers and show some love.

3 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness Sunday: Munchkin Land”

Leave a comment