About Me, I'm Ready for My Close-Up

Quick Hit: Don’t Be The Blender

I’ve been taking a class in Improv for the last couple of weeks.  I love the games, the freedom, the spontaneity – even if I do wonder – am I funny?  But in the end, it doesn’t matter because I am having FUN.

Last night we worked in groups and in one game we had to create a machine using our bodies, sounds, motions, etc.   I wasn’t thinking too clearly and when my group got “a blender” I decided to be the part that spins and chops things into bits.  BIG MISTAKE.

Who gets motion sick?  Me.

Annnnd….who got motion sick in the middle of class after “pureeing”?  Me.

I spent the rest of class alternating between hot flashes and cold sweats, moaning, and looking down at the floor while rubbing my temples.  Did I mention there was little to no air conditioning in the building?  Combine motion sickness with overheating and you have the perfect storm of agony.

The instructor must have been in secret sympathy.  She gave me a scene toward the end of class where the location was “on a cruise ship”.  Perfect!  I’ve got this covered.  No acting required.

What do you do when the “show must go on” even if you’re feeling sick?  I’d love to hear about your experiences in the comments!  Last night, I threw my quest for greatness to the winds and accepted that my C-game would have to be good enough, and life went on, the sky did not fall, and it was okay.

See you soon, readers!

Standard

Leave a Reply

