About Me, Friends

Open Mouth. Insert Foot.

It’d be nice if this only happened sometimes.  It’d be nice if I had a really awesome, funny story about how ONE time I said or did something that was just SO wacky I stunned everyone.  Then we all laughed and it was a-okay.

Did I Do That?
Did I Do That?

Unfortunately, it’s not that easy.  Being high-strung and quite often ignorant of tact, decorum, or diplomacy this happens more than I’d like.  Add in a mind that processes things and gets them to my mouth too quickly and you’ve got your basic recipe for trouble.

There’s the time I asked a friend of mine why she would want such a boring job (she had just gotten a job as a technology analyst or some such) to which she replied – I got my graduate degree in that.

There’s the time I blurted out to my college color guard instructor not only how hideously ugly our uniforms were BUT also implied someone would have to be nuts to have picked them to which she replied – I picked them.

*thud*

There’s the fact that a long-standing boyfriend had a running joke that his job was to come along behind me and quietly sweep up my diplomatic disasters.  At least we knew our respective duties.

On the flip side, with so many opportunities for self-embarrassment, I learned long ago not to get embarrassed, or at the least, learned not to show that I was embarrassed.  The occasional embarrassment still happens, but it’s pretty tough to get me there by pointing out something inappropriate I’ve done or said.  This is to the utter chagrin and horror of my very sensitive husband.

But with age comes more tact and less open mouth, insert foot moments.  And if I live to 200 I’ll be able to begin a new career as a diplomat.

Mama’s Losin’ It

This post is linked up over at Mama Kat’s.  This week’s prompt?  Whoops…write about a time you put your foot in your mouth.

That’s all for now folks.

2 thoughts on “Open Mouth. Insert Foot.”

  1. Embarrassment that hangs around it a bummer. You are right best to let it go. For we will all be doing or saying the wrong thing sooner than later.

Leave a Reply

