About Me, Friends, NaBloPoMo 2012

Snap, Crackle, Break

Crack. 

I looked at the board I just punched pretty amazed at what I had accomplished.  I punched a board and broke it! 

Quiver in fear meer, mortal beings.  Beings who cannot break boards with their hands and feet. Muua-hahahahahahaha…

I had always wanted to learn martial arts and a couple years ago I decided it was time for action.  A new Tae Kwon Do school had opened less than five minutes from my house.  I stopped in one day to chat with the Master of the school.  I liked what I saw and signed up after he cut me a great deal on the price.

Hiiiii-Ya!

I met a lot of great people.  I worked out my aggression, had fun, got in shape, and made a few friends.

That’s how I met the guy who ripped out my bathroom.  The guy whom I thought was my friend, but turned really flaky in the middle of the project and vanished.  He was an out-of-work contractor.  I was working and had projects that needed to be done.  A win-win situation in my view.

Then one day he vanished.  He stopped returning my calls and emails about the bathroom project.  I was hurt and confused.  A little later my financial situation changed, and when my contract ran out I didn’t renew my Tae Kwon Do sessions.

Jump forward a few years.  I decided to text this guy because I was still confused and pissed about my unfinished bathroom.  We agreed to have lunch.  I’m not the sort of person to back down from conflict and I really wanted the chance to confront this loser.

At our lunch, I discovered the reason for his weird behavior.  He had a crush on me.  Say what?  I was a bit flummoxed.  I’m a decent looking gal, but as a woman you usually get a sense when something like that is going on.  I would never in a million years have guessed that from him.

I’m glad we had lunch.  I’m glad the mystery is solved.  I miss Tae Kwon Do. I hope when my financial situation improves that I can resume it.  I wasn’t the best, but I had fun.  I’m also way more sane when exercise is part of my routine.

I’m not glad I still have a half-finished bathroom.

Life Lesson – do not hire an out-of-work contractor you meet in martial arts class.

Mama’s Losin’ It

This post is linked up over at Mama’s Losing It.  The prompt I chose?  Tell us about something you’ve punched.  Not quite as cool as tell as about when someone punched you.  But it’ll do.

6 thoughts on “Snap, Crackle, Break”

  1. LOL. Well, at least you found out what happened!! I’ve always wanted to take martial arts classes too. Maybe someday, I’ll have to add it to my Bucket List!! Thanks for the contractor advice 😉

Leave a Reply

