About Me, Holidays, The Family That...

Christmas Road Trip

At some point recently, I convinced my husband and parents-in-law to take a road trip with me to my home town to see my Dad and his family.  My husband has only been to Oklahoma once before and his Mom hasn’t ever been here.  The in-laws have been wanting to visit and meet my Dad and his family since I got married, and I figured now was as good a time as any to make this happen.  It’s been a really, really long time since I saw my Dad’s side of the family for the holidays too.  It’s always better to kill two birds with one stone.

My mother-in-law doesn’t fly and my husband only with extreme mental stress, therefore even though I would have loved to fly driving was the only travel  option.  We rented a van since we needed to transport ourselves, the luggage, presents, and two dogs.  This trip normally takes about 20 hours of driving, but when you stop every couple of hours to walk the dogs and every hour for people to use the facilities it becomes quite a bit longer.  I think we made it in 30 hours or so.

Please, please, please….get me out of this van!

When we arrived, I wished I could have turned back time and simply drugged the mother-in-law and dragged her on the plane.  I have decided road trips are for younger people than me.  I no longer have the patience for them.  I just want to get to my destination!  That night, while trying to sleep, the world still felt like it was moving after SO many hours spent in the van.  I’ve only felt like that before after a cruise.

In the end, the long trip was worth it.  The parents are getting along well and enjoying the sights.  Christmas was fantastic.  We got up and went over to my step-mom’s parent’s house and ate a huge Christmas dinner with her family then we went to my Nana’s house and opened presents with just the immediate family.  Yesterday, we saw some sights around town, went out to eat, and spent the evening playing dominoes together.

I’m so grateful for a wonderful family!  I hope you all had a Christmas that was as awesome as mine.

Standard

Leave a Reply

