The Family That...

Stream of Consciousness Sunday: Celebrations

Wow.  What a weekend.  It’s been a whirl-wind of family, celebrations and togetherness.  Somehow, it makes me long for a hot bubble bath, candles and some peace and quiet!

But I wouldn’t trade time with family for anything even though now that’s it mostly over I feel the need for a much deserved break.

My husband’s sister flew in this weekend from California.  She hasn’t been back to the East Coast since 1989.  She hasn’t seen my hubby since he was just a kid.  They share a Dad and the reason she came back home was for his Dad’s 75th birthday celebration.

That’s why this weekend has been the weekend of celebrations.  We also had the joy of celebrating the hubby’s parent’s 40th anniversary.  And we popped over to Celebration to spend Saturday evening with my aunt at her company holiday Christmas party.  It was a great time except almost catching the table on fire!

We also took a family group photo on Saturday morning, which was like pulling teeth to get everyone to attend.  My hubby’s nephew (his Dad’s grandson) drove in at 3am that morning after spending a day and a half driving around Texas, Alabama and Florida.  I’m glad he made it in time for the family picture.

Tonight we went to dinner to celebrate the anniversary and birthday.  We then spent the evening listening to my mom-in-law sing with her Oratorio group.  It was a beautiful rendition of the Messiah complete with harpsichord.  I loved it!

And Friday night I spent the evening with hubs and his sister at the Victorian Christmas stroll.

I’m sure you can all understand why I might me craving a little me time.  Since Thursday it’s been nothing but go, go, go and family time.  I’m feeling a cold coming on and looking forward to visiting my bed and taking a few minutes to snuggle down with a nice book – alone.

#SOCsundayThis was my 5 minute Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. It’s five minutes of your time and a brain dump. Want to try it? Here are the rules…

  • Set a timer and write for 5 minutes only.
  • Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.
  • Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.
  • Add the Stream of Consciousness Sunday badge to your post.
  • Link up your post below.
  • Visit your fellow bloggers and show some love. Other participating bloggers can be found at All.Things.Fadra.
2 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness Sunday: Celebrations”

Leave a Reply

