About Me

There Once Was A Girl

A whisper, “Medusa.”

Muffled snickers and laughs I barely hear and try to ignore.

Again, a whisper, “Medusa, can I rat your hair?” from the person sitting behind me in class.

I wonder again why I was born with ugly, wild, dark, untamed, curly hair.  Why couldn’t I have been born with straight, BLONDE hair like my classmates?

I’m reluctant, but in the spirit of cooperation let them rat my hair.

I sit on the floor as my Dad blow dries my hair.  I hate having my hair blow dried.  I hate that my scalp is tender and hurts when he tries to brush it.

I know it’s 20 degrees outside or colder and I can’t go to bed with wet hair.  But I don’t like it.

The brush gets tangled and finally the handle breaks off.  The next day, Dad insists that I get a short haircut.

There was a little girl who had a little curl

Right in the middle of her forehead

When she was good, she was very, very good,

And when she was bad she was horrid.

– Mother Goose

I remember my Nana quoting this to me one day as a small child.  I assume it was a day when I tended toward horrid rather than good yet I don’t remember the reason just the rhyme.

It was very appropriate for both my hair and my attitude.

Sweating I take a break from dancing and walk toward the club entrance for some air.

Some guy, “Your hair is gorgeous.”

Me, “Thanks.”

Guy, “I’ll pay you $400 if you let me videotape while I cut it.”

Me, “Umm…no thanks.”

young girl with curly hair

Cute, huh?

This post is linked up with Red Writing Hood over at Write On Edge.  This week’s prompt?  Hair.  Go visit and show some love to the other bloggers.

Write On Edge: Red-Writing-Hood

See you soon!

Standard

15 thoughts on “There Once Was A Girl

  1. I learned this from my mother. Same concept.

    I like how you have intertwined these separate stories to give us one impression. And I love how despite the fact that you didn’t love your curls, you weren’t willing to let some whack-o hack off your curls — for any price.

    I’m here from Write On Edge. I’d love it if you’d check out my stuff. It’s under my name. 😉

    • Thinking back I may have considered letting the whack-o cut off my curls for a few seconds. I was living on a shoe-string budget, but I’m glad I didn’t too.

      Thanks for taking the time to stop by and comment! I’d love to check out your blog. 😉

  2. I like how you wove the stories together and agree the guy in the club sounds weird. Depending on when in my life, I’d have taken him up on it. $400 would have bailed me out several times!

    I, too, always wanted curly hair. Obviously, mine is board straight. Or was, until I moved to Austin. Turns out my hair is way cuter in humidity! Who knew?!

    • Honestly, I think I considered it for a few seconds. I was really poor at the time and like you said $400 would have a gone a long way back then.

      Humidity is my arch nemesis! I’m glad you have a different relationship with it! 🙂

  3. I absolutely love stories told in vignettes and this one is wonderful. I love what you revealed about your hair through other people’s reactions to it. Genius, really.

    Also? Yes, totally and completely adorable. 🙂

  4. Oh, man. I have had a love-hate relationship with my curly hair forEVER. Most of the time I love it (because it looks super fancy really easily) but it’s also a pain. But it’s funny how everyone loves curly hair (and also, apparently sorta creepy in your case, lol!) Great post.

    • I had a love-hate relationship with my hair as a kid. I really did not want curly hair. It just wasn’t cool. Then everyone started to get perms and I felt better because I had no need for that. Now, I do love that I can get it ready in a few minutes and it still looks good.

      Thanks for commenting!

  5. I like that rhyme. It makes me feel a little more badass. Maybe I’ll get it tattooed on me… 😉

    I hate how everyone loves curly hair. People touch my hair all the time and it makes me stabbity. I’m so glad I’m not alone.

    • I’m glad you liked the rhyme and if you do get a tattoo of it please send a picture!

      They would not love it so much if they had to live with it. 🙂 And if they touch it they deserve whatever is coming to them. Stab.

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Posts of 2011 « Actually I'm…

Leave a Reply

