About Me, NaBloPoMo 2011

Facebook, I Wish I Could Quit You

Today, as happens every now and then, I consider deleting my online social presence: Facebook, Twitter, etc.

It’s not you. It’s me.

I like connecting with you, but I dislike having “someone” know everything that I’m doing online.

Look! Your friend just liked Pressurized Canned Cheese Product! Go LIKE it!

GO.

NOW.

You still haven’t gone?

What are you waiting for?

It’s CHEESE PRODUCT! DELICIOUS!

*sigh*

At no point in life do I care if 500 of my friends like this weird canned cheese.

Not to mention, it’s just plain creepy that Big Brother is watching everything I do.

And it’s not just Facebook. I don’t join frequent buyer clubs. Why should I be someone’s market research guinea pig? If you want marketing data about my shopping habits, come buy it.

Those license plate covers that you get from the dealership when you buy a car?  Immediately taken off.  Same with stickers applied to the car by the car dealership with their name on it.  I’m not your advertisement vehicle.

May you have my phone number? No, thanks.

So, although I do get a wild urge to delete Facebook every now and then, I resist because it is such a great way to connect with many people in an easy way.

I use a variant spelling of my name. I keep everything private. I only befriend people I know in real life.

Am I a stodgy, curmudgeon? Yes. But everyone needs a little privacy.

Mystery is the spice of life.

Standard

Leave a Reply

