About Me, Friends, Picture O' The Day

Wild Woman Adventure

If there’s one thing I learned this weekend it’s that shooting a shotgun for three hours hurts!

I spent this past weekend at a Boy Scout Camp in the Ocala National Forest attending an event called Becoming An Outdoors Woman.  It’s sponsored by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission as a way to get more women involved in outdoor activities like hunting and fishing.

I went to the same event last year at the prodding, pleading and begging (okay, it really didn’t take much encouragement on her part as I LOVE me some adventure!) of a good friend of mine who really wanted to go, but didn’t want to go alone.

As you can see, I liked it so much that I came back for round two this year.  I’ve always been a hands-on kind of gal and I especially like getting those hands dirty.  As a child, I have great memories of following my handyman Dad around and doing cool projects with him so this was right up my alley.  Once I heard that you got to SHOOT weapons I was even more excited!

I’ve always wanted to shoot a gun and was lucky enough to cross this off my list last year at the event.  This year I managed to shoot quite a few clay “birds” up in the air and even a “rabbit” in the field during shotgun class.  I even learned a new word, courtesy of our instructor – fwobble – which means you tapped the bird but it didn’t shatter.  I’m proud of my friend for breaking out of her comfort zone and experiencing shotgun shooting with me.  She even fwobbled a few.

I’d love to hear about your experience with shooting sports, wild woman adventures or BOW in the comments.  Until next year, keep on being wild!

Standard

Leave a Reply

