Archive | 3:11 pm

Painting of the Month: March 2011

9 Apr

brbrbrbrbrbrbrbrbrbrbr…..

Here it is folks!  The moment you’ve all been waiting for.

The unveiling of my March painting of the month!

NOTE: Those of you that are turning blue can now stop holding your breath.

painting of thunderstorm

Rain Rain Go Away!

I acquired this round canvas years back for some other painting project that I drug my feet on and never started.  My goal for March was to make good use of the circular nature of the canvas.  I’m trying to use up what I have before I go out and purchase new canvases.

After some thought I settled on creating a painting that showed the earth meeting the sky as I felt the curvature would be interesting on the circular canvas.  In tribute to the unseasonably odd and crazy weather, what better thing to paint at the meeting of earth and sky than a bad storm?  I love storms, which is not so odd considering I grew up in tornado alley, and there is nothing better than watching the black clouds roll in and hearing the thunder echo over the hills.  (storm-chasing is on the List)

On a side note, this strange weather did have a nice side effect.  One day as it was storming and my power had gone out, I received a phone call from my Mom.  She had heard a tornado had blown away the roof of some retiree mobile home units close to where I live.  She wanted to make sure I was okay.  After I recovered from the shock, I felt both happy and confused.

Is this the same Mom who as a child neglected to take me to the dentist for a couple of years until a broken tooth had rotted out and needed a root canal?

Is it a full-moon?

Is Jupiter aligned with Mars?

Whatever it is I’m not complaining.  Thanks, Ma!

Hope you enjoy this month’s work.  Stay tuned for more.

